Meetings are held on Mondays in the DEHS Media Center at 7:00 PM unless otherwise indicated.
Agenda items must be submitted to the Superintendent's Office the Monday before the Board meeting.
February 12, 2018 August 13, 2018
March 12, 2018 September 10, 2018
April 9, 2018 October 8, 2018
May 14, 2018 Tue., November 13
June 11, 2018 December 9, 2018 at 6:30 PM with a Tax Informational meeting at 6:00 PM
July 9, 2018 January 14, 2019 with an Organizational meeting at 6:30 PM
6:00 PM  in DEHS Media Center
February 26, 2018 and May 21, 2018

Mon., February 12, 2018
 in DEHS Media Center @ 7 PM
School Board Photos at 6:30 PM in the DEHS Commons.
The Agenda Notes will be posted on Thu., February 8, 2018.

Click here to view the posted agendas on BoardBook.
CONDENSED  MEETING MINUTES -- Condensed, unapproved meeting minutes are listed here.  They are subject to corrections and final approval of the School Board.  Underlined words will take you to the associated documents.   After viewing the document, use the back button (rather than the X button) and you will return to the condensed minutes.  Once approved, the full set of meeting minutes can be accessed by choosing the button on the left.  

January 8, 2018
(These are condensed and draft meeting minutes. A complete set is available in the District Office located in the high school.)

Chair Ron Pagel called the regular meeting of the Dover-Eyota Board of Education to order at 7:01 PM at the Dover-Eyota High School Media Center in Eyota, MN. Other members present: Don Andring, Julie Austinson, Andrea Lehnertz, Linda Nelson, Matt Wrubel, and Supt. Mike Carolan. Absent: Todd Peterson.

The Board acted on the following items:

  1. Approved the amended agenda; (Nelson, Wrubel, unanimous)
  2. Approved the December 11, 2017 School Board Minutes; (Wrubel, Austinson, unanimous)
  3. Approved Regular District Bills totaling $90,255.14, and Special District Bills totaling $125,080.18; (Lehnertz, Wrubel, unanimous)
  4. Approved the Treasurer’s Report with liquid assets totaling $5,575,284.49 and December electronic transfers; (Nelson, Wrubel, unanimous)
  5. Recognitions – ExCEL award nominees Sam Birkholz and Bailey Wallace; Triple ‘A” award nominees Alex Bushman and Valorie Ziemer; Valorie Ziemer selected to the MN Music Educator’s Association State Band.
  6. Report – Tech Nest Possibility (student independent technology internship with Bryan Berg);
    1. Old Business – Approval of the deletion of 299 Donation Policy and 511 Fundraising Policy, and approval of revisions to 620 Credit for Learning Policy; (Nelson, Wrubel, unanimous)
  7. New Business -
    1. Granted tentative approval of the student trip to Washington, DC with the district paying for school bus transportation to and from the airport; (Nelson, Lehnertz, unanimous)
    2. Granted tentative approval of the student Band trip to DuPage County, IL; (Lehnertz, Wrubel, unanimous)
    3. Terminated the contract with Mundo Learning; (Wrubel, Austinson, unanimous)
    4. Accepted the resignations of Instructional Assistants Jessica Webeck and Linsay Hameister;

Hired Jeremy Dohrn as Custodian and Kelly Schliesman as Spanish Instructor;  
Donations – Boys’ Basketball $50 from Marguerite Uthke; Sharing Tree $100 from Deb Vosler, $300 from Wanda Hanson, $50 from Rural Robbins, and $50 from Lendon Riess of Advanced Hardwood Floors; Elementary – recumbent exercise bike from Amy Heaney. (Andring, Nelson, unanimous)

The meeting was adjourned at 7:59 PM. (Andring, Austinson, unanimous)
Julie Austinson, Clerk


January 8, 2018

Chair Pagel called the organizational meeting of the Dover-Eyota Board of Education to order at 6:33 PM. Board members present: Don Andring, Julie Austinson, Andrea Lehnertz, Linda Nelson, Ron Pagel, Mike Wrubel, and Supt. Michael Carolan. Absent: Todd Peterson.

The Board acted on the following items:

  1. Approved the agenda; (Andring, Wrubel, unanimous)
  2. Elected Officers for 2018: Chair Ron Pagel (unanimous), Vice Chair Todd Peterson (unanimous), Clerk Julie Austinson (unanimous), and Treasurer Matt Wrubel (unanimous);
  3. Set Board meeting dates (7:00 PM unless otherwise indicated) (Lehnertz, Austinson, unanimous)

2018 – February 12, March 12, April 9, May 14, June 11, July 9, August 13, September 10, October 8, November 13, December 10;

2019 – January 14, February 11, March 11, April 8, May 13, June 10, July 8, August 12, September 9, October 14, November 12, December 9;

2020 – January 13 (organizational half hour prior).

School Levy Information Meeting for 2018 – 1/2 hour prior to the December meeting in which the Board sets the levy with advertisement in the Eagle and on the tax statements.

  1. Officers’ Pay and Board Salary for the Year 2018 remained the same at: Regular salary - $1,350; Matching 457 Plan District Contribution up to $1,000; Committee work - $300; Additional salary for Chair - $500; Additional salary for Clerk - $250; Additional salary for Vice-Chair - $200; Additional salary for Treasurer - $200; Negotiations Team - $1,800 for each bargaining unit (disbursement decided by team) and $100 per day (or $50 per half day) stipend during mediation; $100 per day (or $50 per half day) for attending Board-recommended conferences or training. (Andring, Austinson, unanimous)
  2. Approved assignment of duties. (Wrubel, Austinson, unanimous)
  3. Required any Board member doing business with the school district to sign an annual disclosure statement; (Austinson, Wrubel, unanimous)
  4. Assigned Board Committee members and Advisory Committees/Task Forces members; (Wrubel Andring, unanimous)
  5. Approved organizational items for the 2018-2019 school year: (Wrubel, Andring, unanimous)
  1. approved funding for activities honoring staff;
  2. approved memberships;
  3. approved student teacher agreements;
  4. approved Miscellaneous Pay Schedule;
  5. appointed the school district’s Local Educational Agency (LEA) Representative;
  6. named all official school depositories;
  7. designated the Superintendent as the official district representative;
  8. named Ratwik, Roszak & Maloney, PA as the official school district counsel;
  9. named the official district newspaper as the Rochester Post Bulletin;
  10. named the official district radio stations as KROC 1340 AM and 106.9 FM and named the official television station as KTTC Channel 10;
  11. continued the overdraft fee of $30;
  12. bidding: any item for purchase exceeding $20,000 will be brought to the Board for determination of purchase process;
  13. authorized administration to pay bills subsequent to Board approval;
  14. authorized signature plate;
  15. authorized electronic fund transfers;
  16. authorized superintendent to conditionally hire an individual with expectation that he/she would bring the proposed hiree to the Board for final approval at the next Board meeting. Such hiring would also be contingent upon an acceptable background check report.

The meeting adjourned at 7:00 PM. (Nelson, Wrubel, unanimous)
Julie Austinson, Clerk