Special Education Department

Welcome to the Dover-Eyota Elementary Special Education Homepage!

The Special Education Department at the Dover-Eyota Elementary School provides assistance to identified students and their teachers. All referrals for identification must go through a Referral Review Team. Evidence of two documented interventions of change in the classroom environment to help the student succeed must be provided. Referrals are made for assistance, not for a particular program, i.e.: LD, or E/BD. Determination of need and delivery of service is made through an assessment that includes information from the classroom teacher and parents as well as standardized test scores. In addition to the following special education services, Dover-Eyota Schools have a school psychologist, speech/language pathologist, E/BD coordinator, and a physical therapist, occupational therapist, vision and hearing specialists, pre-school handicapped coordinator provided by the Hiawatha Valley Special Education District (HVED) on a part-time basis.

Meet our Staff:

Mandy Martin Emotional/Behavioral Disorders (E/BD)
Sheri Crowson Developmental Cognitive Disabilities (DCD)
Paula Ferrier Adaptive Physical Education
Penny Garity Early Childhood (ECSE)
Sadi Linnihan School Psychologist
Annie Babcock Speech and Language Pathologist
Brandon Vogen Learning Disabilities (LD)
Christina Ryan Developmental Cognitive Disabilities(DCD)
Nancy Horning Health Nurse
Jane Johnson Gifted & Talented Coordinator
Kay Rydeen Occupational Therapist
Matt Kevan Teacher for the Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Heather Holton OHD/Assistive Technology Coordinator
Todd Erickson Audiologist
Hiawatha Valley Special Education District

Contact: Annie Babcock